The first wish for Father’s Day goes to my own father who has gone on to heaven, when he is not sticking around protecting me! On the news this morning, some of the hosts ask themselves and their guests what was the best advice your father ever gave you? I thought about it, and although I only had eight years with him, I realize there was something he told me that brought great comfort and laid a foundation that perhaps became sub conscious at times but was there. I was about maybe six and we were alone together on a Saturday morning in the winter on Joliet Street. The cottage on Joliet Street during winter could be very cozy, and it was no different that morning. I was afraid of something, a ghost story probably, a monster movie, or something my brother did to constantly frighten me. I was telling Daddy how scared I was, and he didn’t go to the there’s no such thing as ghosts things, but took me very seriously. He told me that once there was a great American president named Franklin Roosevelt who, in the midst of the Depression, the worst time ever, had told the American people, “all we have to fear is fear itself.” How Daddy reached me with that, because I just stared at him and realize that the fear I was in was far worse than anything that might jump out of the closet at me, stand over my bed…it had a huge effect on me and I won’t say I never got frightened again, but when I was I would remember what he said. So funny, a kid so frightened of ghosts grew up to go on ghost hunts basically saying, y’all come on! But, thank you Daddy for that…and for guiding me to the Mardi Gras skulls, and Luis Frois, the link to Japan, but please someone tell me where Scandinavia comes in!

Happy Father’s Day to you, and to good Dads too like you. I think you might especially know why I say that to someone who put his kids first no matter where he may have wanted to go.

After wandering what I was going to wear to the graduation yesterday, at the last minute just decided on white cotton slacks, a simple lavender T, and those silver filagree loops Mom gave me twenty-something years ago. In other words, simplify, simplify, simplify. Thought I might be too casual, but, any way took special pains with my hair pinning it up, and when I got there a few people told me how lovely the lavender was–so, good. I love lavender. It was a lovely ceremony, a lovely brunch, I sat once again with Dr. Peterson and his wife Charlene and we had a good time as usual. Meggie won Resident of the Year, I met her parents and we hit it off immediately. She had told me her Dad had also gotten his DNA done so I told him about mine, and in the course of it, joined by Dr. Daroca, Department Genius and totally nice guy, I told them about Luis and Japan. We had so much fun, a lot of laughter, champagne, the view of the Mississippi, and there I was also sitting beside Dr. Ghandour’s husband who are observing Ramadan, answering his questions about the Confederate monument and the Republican viewpoint. Totally civilized conversation between two people of different cultures, goodness, it can be done, PEOPLE!

Dr. Peterson also, like me, has ancestors who served in the Confederate Army, and he showed a minute lapel pin he was wearing: it’s of Lee Circle with Lee on his pedestal. I’m going to order a pendant.

Feel vegetarian today. So, right now in the oven, layers of eggplant, olive oil, portobello mushies, onion, garlic, tomatoes, Asigo cheese in a tomato gravy seasoned with basil, oregano and what not, is roasting away. Got some veggie pasta of different colors–beet, green, orange and regular and am just going to toss it in pesto.

If I could I would tell you more about what I think about you and Father’s Day, and what I touched up in this post, and it is all good, but so personal, I won’t.

