A strange Easter, for me, but unlike that Easter three years ago, when I got no better until I went into pneumonia, it isn’t as bad.  Realize back then I had been getting sick for days but kept pushing on and working when I shouldn’t have.  Still, I am sick with this and may have to stay home even tomorrow but not as bad as three years ago.

Through all of this, I have been dying for ice cream, especially chocolate to the point of obsession.  I don’t often crave chocolate, maybe it’s the Easter candy thing, but dragged myself out this morning because I had to get my taxes in the mail, with an envelope addressed to the IRS, i.e., The Internal Rat Shysters and stopped at Walgreen’s for more meds then to Rouses for ice cream:  The New Orleans Ice Cream Company’s Mississippi Debris (dark, dark chocolate with swirls of brownies, malted milk balls, chocolate cherries, sprinkles, etc.; Chocolate Bread pudding; and Breyer’s Mint Chocolate along with a can of Reddi Whip.  The first two are just pints; the second a bit bigger.

Not cooking a lot today, but made oven fried lean pork chops; I had frozen some really delicious red cabbage I had cooked with low sodium bacon, apple and onion, and have a twice baked potato; that is all.

Remembering waking up Easter mornings to see the huge Easter basket on my dresser that the Easter bunny brought me in the night:  For me, always tied with a huge blue bow, a solid chocolate bunny, and plenty of Goldbrick eggs, Russell Stover’s Easter eggs, and tiny foil covered chocolate eggs.  Thanks, Mom.  TCM had the really clever touch of showing rabbit-themed movies last night, like Harvey, and The Night of the Lepus.  I taped the latter.

I have been taping, “The White Queen” on STARZ and soon had all ten episodes which I binged watched starting Friday after watching, “Sign,” and then finished yesterday morning.  I enjoyed it very much.  The White Queen, Elizabeth, was played by Rebecca Ferguson, as a blonde, and I kept trying to place her until I realized she had played the British agent in, “Impossible Nation:  Rogue Nation.”  I loved that defensive move her character made twice, when she is in engaged with bad dudes and she somehow climbs up their bodies and renders them useless.  I was thinking that I might have been able to do such a thing back in the days when I was ballet-limber, or 10K limber and it would have been a hoot, but I don’t think I would try this today!

Lost some weight since being sick; my shorts when I went out this morning were sliding off of me; believe me, that’s a good thing!

As frequently happens when you are working and engrossed, we seem to go our separate ways spiritually, always was, as far back as 1991; all except for 2011–that was far different.  It is now, but it’s all okay.

Yesterday I watched a tape of, “The Tarnished Angels,”  a mid 1950’s soap opera sort of with Rock Hudson as a New Orleans Times Picayune reporter, Robert Stack as a stunt pilot and Dorothy Malone as his wife.  Over Mardi Gras.  They had some real clips of Canal Street back then.  It promised to be a real clunker but somehow the story caught me and I enjyed it…Rock gets fired from the paper for wanting to cover the stunt pilot, actually he’s fallen in love with Malone, gets drunk after something happens and storms into the newsroom and launches into this soliloquy that was well performed and holds his editor and newsroom enthralled.  I said, “rehire that boy!”  And he was.  I always liked Robert Stacks, just wished he didn’t play each character like Eliot Ness.

Happy Easter!

