Well, it’s been threatening rain for two days now and that put a monkey wrench in painting the tables and stereo on the back porch.  Never mind.  Tomorrow, I will just paint inside; I’m dying to get this done and have changed the original plan and will try painting the stereo a rich heirloom red.  Will try to make it look like Chinese lacquer.  Home improvements, however, yesterday drove to Walmart in Harahan along River Road to get those divine Fresh Cotton candles, so wonderful for spring.  To my joy, a lady passed me with a faux Adirondack chair in her buggy, colored a vivid turquoise-teal blue.  Now, one of those wonderful chairs now adorns the back porch, and I have to say, it looks so pretty with the purple and gold pansies, the fuchsia geranium, the purple Wandering Jew in in the turquoise pot, the orange gold marigolds and scarlet petunias I added.  I bought some silk lilacs, daffodils and arrange them with daisies in the crock pitcher on the dining room table.

Got up in the middle of the night Friday morning, and watched my tape of , “The Night of the Iguana.”  Loved that movie since I was fifteen, and now all these years later, I relished in the words and the performances and story.  And Burton.  Yesterday afternoon I watched, “The Taming of the Shrew,” another one I loved and enjoyed it all over again.  Funny story, gorgeous costumes, riotous direction by Zeffferilli that, along with Shakespeare, showed just how alike human beings are regardless of what century they are born.  And Liz Taylor was drop dead gorgeous at Katharina, but you know, Burton, decked out as Petrucchio, was no less pretty!  I watched half of Dr. Faustus late last night, and you know, they should really show that movie at Halloween.  Burton’s movies were filled with words, words, words, beautiful words, beautifully spoken words and I miss that in movies.  Found I really miss Burton in movies, all these many years following his death.  I taped one of my favorite war flicks, “Where Eagles Dare,” and have to admit I’m enjoying this Richard Burton fest all this month on TCM.  He was a brilliant Shakespearean actor and still danced his way around Tennessee Williams, who is, still, in my opinion, the greatest playwright of the 20th century.  I don’t think anyone can really touch him.  And that’s not a swipe at anyone.  Just how I honestly feel.

Tomorrow–projects:  paint the furniture and make homemade pappardelle pasta using the food processors.  And homemade pesto.  I love the way the word, “pappardelle,” just trips off the tongue.  I should take up Italian.

