Believe it or not, this is one of my favorite days.  Went to 6:30 Mass this morning at Saint FX, received ashes.  The azalea bushes in front of the church were ablaze with blooms.  Yesterday was such a relaxing day, and I mean a relaxing day down to my bones and spirit sort of day that I felt a renewal of sorts start pumping  within myself.  Making it a point to eat more fruit; keeping fresh pineapple, cantaloupe and honeydew melon on hand.  Apples and oranges.

Awakened after a sound, delicious sleep in such a good mood.  Making coffee, I remembered something about Mimi from so many years ago.  We were at the Rex, I was twenty, having returned that November to help with Papa Bill who had surgery, the trip when I was caught at LAX after midnight in the pouring rain, with two suitcases and no cab in sight that would drive me to San Pedro.  Anyway, Mi’s and I were talking and she told me, there was a song she loved by Petula Clark but didn’t know the name and asked if I knew it.  Mimi couldn’t sing but she kept trying to sing the lines, so kiss me goodbye…I knew which song she meant, so today, for Mimi, I’m posting it here.  It is lovely, if sad.  Hadn’t thought about that in so many years.

Below, the penitent.  My nail polish startled Fr. Taormina when I reached for the host at Mass this morning.

photo-on-3-1-17-at-8-30-am-2 photo-on-3-1-17-at-9-05-am-4

 

