This is a link to a most excellent article about the movie, “Silence,” that also looks masterful and yet gives me a pang of disappointment because I want to ask you, why aren’t you there?  You had the time.

I might actually venture to a theater to see it.

This article was written by a priest who was the religious consultant to the movie.  I have to say it makes me glad to know that, after I read Endo’s most excellent book, that I took away almost all of the same points this priest makes about the story.  Some of the scenarios he describes weren’t in the book, probably added to the script later, so I can’t comment on those, but I 100 percent agree with his analysis.  It was such a good story, again, very disappointed, but have to say Neeson looks like he did an awesome job.

 

http://www.americamagazine.org/issue/understanding-silence

