Looking at that year typed in the heading, with a touch of disbelief.  Have we really come this far,  and where are we going.  2017 stands before me and I feel like I’m standing on a precipice, a little afraid, because it feels that what’s ahead is momentous and life-changing.  So, all I can say is, Jesus, I trust in You.  Take my hand, I’m a little afraid.

Well, I and my thumping head wish you a Happy New Year!  Actually, it stopped thumping after two and a half cups of strong French Roast; now is just a little sore.  Never drink champagne after you’ve had one and half Jack Daniels on the rocks, but I wanted to pop the cork and sing in the New Year.  This morning reminded me of that Kris Kristofferson song, “Sunday Morning Coming Down,” or something like that…the line, “the beer I had for breakfast was good, so I had another one…”  and the line from the movie, “Auntie Mame,” when she tells her young nephew Patrick…”not now Dear, Auntie’s hung.”

Awakened late…gasp…6:45 AM and the rain was falling from a queer-colored sky, and all I can say is that it looked like tornado weather.  Breathless and muggy again outside, and I’m sure that didn’t help my head.  But I didn’t want to watch the news, although last night I did see the ball drop at midnight in New Yawk.  And rang in midnight here an hour later.  So I turned EWTN on, and once again watched their exquisite Latin Mass.  As we celebrated at the vigil yesterday, it is the celebration of the Solemnity of Mary, and glorious love offering to Our Lady so key in our salvation.  This Mass has some of the most beautiful scriptures of all, and this morning as I watched, and also remembering yesterday, I realize that I consider this most ancient ritual of the Catholic Church, the Holy Mass, one of the most beautiful things on earth.  Catholics, come home.

Mom and Mimi strong on my mind this morning, two very beautiful ladies who went before me; sometimes I feel the three of us form a kind of chain together, a chain that ended with me…trust in God for that reason.  Maybe I’m thinking this way because Mary is near; when she is near, I am always reminded that she is the spirit of myself when I am at my best, and when the women closest to me are at their best.

Such religious talk from one suffering a slight hangover!

What can I say except that I knew you before you marred yourself with marriage, tatoos and pierced earrings.  And nothing was lacking.  I want that back in actuality.  I can want, can’t I?

