Do you know, I thought this dreadful trend died down isn the 90’s, but I see the way-wahs have reared their ugly heads again to ban, “The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn,” and would you believe, “To Kill a Mockingbird.”  All because one mother complained about the books because the use of the n word in them, vital to the point of the stories, upset her son.  You know, these two masterpieces wouldn’t even get published these days.  Two enduring, brilliant tour de forces; nor would, “Gone With the Wind.”  When  I saw the movie version of Huck Finn with Eddie Hodges, I was appalled at the cruelty directed toward Jim, I was appalled at the idea of slavery, and I was seven years old then…and I loved how Huck fought to help free him.  And when Jim won his freedom, I cried because he had to leave Huck, but I was glad he was free.  That lodged an anti-slavery thorn in my brain forever.  “To Kill a Mockingbird” came at the same time the south was undergoing social change–my Mother was definitely anti-white supremacist, and we crossed the picket lines when schools were integrated as miserable women screamed at us and the African American children.  So, Lee’s masterpiece was a story I identified with in more ways than one–and every time the n word was written, or used, to cruelty exhibited, I knew I was seeing blatant ignorance and hatred.

I didn’t cry for that; no, I’m not black, but, God, ban those two books?  As George Will once said, don’t they know what Mark Twain was doing?

