It’s September 1st. September. Just yesterday I was drinking the fairy green liquid of a gimlet on Christmas Eve. But before Louisiana Life puts up on the web the September-October issue, I wanted to post this link to an excellent commentary by Errol Laborde. It was like reading my own mind, especially when I remember the first time I saw a boucherie, sitting in the branches of the mulberry tree, looking straight down at the pig. I’ve seen it once later, this time on television when Anthony Bourdain went to Cajun Country–an excellent program. As much as I felt the way Errol describes, I’m glad I saw this in my life.

A question for you. I write about the heritage, traditions and culture of my state and its people. Is it taking it for granted or am I wrong if somehow I feel I don’t contribute all that much?

http://www.myneworleans.com/Louisiana-Life/July-2016/A-Swine-in-Winter/

