Wanted to go for a swim this morning, but thought I could cook first; the clouds are piling up.  Nevertheless, all the swimming that I did while off has so much healed my back and legs but more swimming to come.

Somehow my last Friday post went into drafts, so I published it this morning a few minutes ago.

Friday, settling down to relax in my red nightshirt with a Jack and soda, turned on the telly to watch the news, and there was Turkey in the midst of a coup.  Gunshots, people running in the streets…Woke up Saturday morning to learn 300 people were killed.

Said my prayers with my coffee, read Outlander Kitchen for needed ingredients; read to Majoria’s, went to Joe W’s, and then I was off to Dillard’s, straight for the Chanel counter.  I bought Coco Mademoiselle from the nicest saleslady.  Bought two new lipsticks; one is Smoked Peach; the other is Pink Frost, and I bought three different sizes of gold hoop earrings.  Lipsticks are light for summer and good for a tan. Oh, and a new black top.Wore it to Mass yesterday with my black flounced skirt and the biggest of the new earrings and black gladiator sandals that don’t kill my toe.  It’s been a while since I treated myself, and it was fun and made me feel, oh, feminine.  When I got home, I was in the crazy mood to watch both Ghostbusters movies–found it was good to see young Sigourney Weaver; Bill Murray; the late Harold Ramos; Ernis Hudson and Dan Aykroyd.  Watched that movie one night so many years ago with someone who got an enormous kick that the instrument of destruction was the giant Stay Pufft marshallow man who came down the streets of New York in his sailor outfit.

We sang such beautiful hymns at Mass yesterday.  The guest priest who gave the sermon the Sunday after I took on the pro-choicers said Mass again.  I think this fine man and I are on the same wave length.  The scripture reading was about those stand in Jesus shall know justice.  The priest said, some people don’t care about justice, and I sort of cried inside with all my heart….I’m ALWAYS wanting justice.  And he said, justice is hard to find sometimes, and said, I had just gotten out of the shower Thursday night and was sitting down to the watch the news and there was the attack in Nice.  Friday night, I had just returned to my hotel room while out of town to turn on the news there was the coup in Turkey.  He said, and I believe this with all my heart, that politics and diplomacy would not solve the problems of the world; but the justice of Christ would, if we but stand in Him.

Came home; hardly ate anything yesterday; I had prepared some cubed mozzarella with sun dried tomatoes and pesto that I ate on my homemade crostini; and that seemed enough.  Settled down in my red nightshirt, with the porch lights on with an ice cold glass of Pinot Grigio and watched, “The Outlaw Josey Wales.”  You know, that really is a fine movie.  A good, good story.  Somehow in the last eight years it has become politically incorrect to say you like it–honestly, a good story is a good story, Jeez, I wish people would get over themselves.

What’s cooking today?  Actually, all is now cooked.  I made Shepherd’s Pie with lamb; the filling is delicious; the mashed potatoes on top are blended with Parmesan cheese and (Smart Balance).  It’s a beautiful dish and I had fun preparing it; grating onions, carrots, deglazing with wine; whipping the potatoes, peeling, etc.  Some would say I’m a glutton for punishment.  While at Joe W’s yesterday, found two gorgeous lamb sirloin chops, lean and thick; marinated them overnight and just pulled them out of the oven.  The mint sauce recipe in Outlander called for white vinegar, fresh minced mint leaves and honey.  I always have white vinegar, but not this time…so what could I do…instead of vinegar, I added a soupcon of Jack to the mint leaves and honey, and a dash of apple cider vinegar; tres delicious.

Well, dinner is cooked, I didn’t really have much breakfast and I’m not hungry.  It seems that since I relaxed so much on vacation my appetite has dwindled; it’s almost dwindled to the point where it was before Mom died.

It’s really threatening to storm so I guess I won’t get my swim in, bummer. This is a happy day.

 

