It rained all day yesterday, a wonderful, cozy gray day unusual for Easter, but not for March and I enjoyed it.  Used snips from my new basil and thyme plants, and the rosemary to make both the meatloaf for this week; and herb loaf for Easter dinner.  Smelled heavenly, tasted heavenly, and took just a small piece of the meatloaf to test it and it was perfect.  My green Easter dinner with the veal was so refreshing and delicious; deviated a bit–instead of steaming asparagus, I cooked them in a skillet in which I drizzled olive oil and they caramelized slightly but I kept them crisp–that’s all that was needed.  Didn’t make the Hollandaise, the fresh flavor with olive oil was enough. Snapbeans were almost as good as Mom’s; artichoke was wonderful and the sauce I made from the veal drippings had just the right balance of garlic, flavor of meat with a splash of white wine.  After Easter dinner, I grew sleepy, stretched out to watch tapes of the first season of “TURN,” AMC is bringing it back April 25 for a fifth season…and fell into the deepest, soundest sleep for over two hours.  A Sunday afternoon nap, and upon awakening, half sleep walked to the living room, all cozy and lamplit against the gray rainy day, snuggled under an afghan and read, “The Middle Window” for the rest of the afternoon.  I did enjoy it all over again.

But in the interim between when I was waiting for the meatloaf to finish cooking so I could pop the herb loaf in the oven, and after I had cooked everything for Sunday dinner, I watched the first half of, “The Passion of the Christ.”  Having seen the last half of it first, and being very impressed with it, there was a part of me that the first half was going to focus on the spiritual side of Christ more, especially in the Garden of Gethsemane.  And this was well done.  But from the time the soldiers led him away, it was one beating after another, in the temple mount, on the way to temple mount, on the way to Pontius Pilate.  I did like Pontius Pilate’s scenes, and his scenes with Jesus.  I thought I might the whole movie anyway although I had just seen the last half, but after the scourging scene that I know accurately depicted what happened to Jesus, I just watched to the point where I entered Thursday night–when he began to carry his cross.  I don’t think I could have taken seeing it again on top of watching that horrendous brutality of the scourging scene.  When the beating scene began, TBN ran a disclaimer liner at the bottom of the screen warning parents it was not fit for young children and I’m glad they did this.  There’s a part of me that wishes so much of the focus of this was not on the atrocities committed against Jesus and yet at the same time, it drove home what Jesus suffered for us, but…I did like how the Devil was inserted into some of the scenes…the eye to eye confrontation with Mary, his presence in Gethsemane, sending a snake to the spiritually tormented Lord who crushed it with his heel…reminded me of my father, who crushed a snake with his heel when Tim and I were playing in the country and it started coming towards us…I don’t know that I could ever crush a snake with my heel…hope I never have to find out!  But to return, I don’t quite understand the symbolism of that horrible baby Satan was holding as he watched the scourging of Jesus.  Other than perhaps an ironic contrast that here was the Son of God being tortured and the devil also had a son, a hideous one smirking.  But not once did I see any evidence of anti-Semitism in this movie; the Sanhedrin sent him to Pilate to be put to death because under law they could not and they wanted him dead.  That’s fact.  It was the Jewish people who cried out to Pilate they wanted Barabbas freed instead of Jesus and it was the Jewish people who cried out, Crucify Him!  That’s fact.  That was documented by Jews themselves, the Apostles.  This is not my favorite Easter movie although I think  it is a valuable one.  I would have liked to have seen more flashbacks of Jesus’ life, such as the scene where he is making a table and speaking with his mother.  A carpenter.  Ben-Hur remains my favorite Easter movie.  And I love, “The Robe.”

One of my favorite people, Mother Angelica, died yesterday, on Easter Sunday.  She was 92.  It seems so fitting she died on Easter Sunday, so perfectly fitting.  My goodness gracious.

And, I’m SOOOO Swamped!

 

Photo on 3-28-16 at 8.37 AM

