Just watched the worst Mardi Gras coverage ever; got on my nerves more than enjoyed it.  More bands than floats, split screens where you couldn’t see the prettiest floats.  Worthless.

Now, on women.  A Women Who…M. Albright, telling women there’s a special place in hell for women who won’t, in essence, vote for Hildebeast Clanton.  Gloria Steinem seconding the notion.  Outdated, feminist, crap, ducking behind sex and not admitting quality or lack thereof has anything to do with it.  Accusing women who won’t vote for Hildebeast as boy crazy and running to the boys.  Why should any woman have to vote for a woman just because she’s a woman?  What if, like me, for decades, have disagreed with policies, personality, am sick of the sight of her, and knowing from the minute her husband was elected president she wanted to be in his place.  Her disastrous foreign policies that gave us the further mess in the Middle East.  Her support of late term abortions while she states she is for the people.  Now to another woman.  Who just lamented how unfair the proportion of films about women getting made to men is in Hollywood.  How, when she sees a movie about a group of men like, “The Big Short,” she feels alienated, not part of the world, etc.  There is a fear of female protagonists in movies.  Really?  Catniss Eberdeen, Stars Wars, Minions, the fact that Meryl Streep releases a movie or two or three every year.  What about, “The Sufragette?”  ” Brooklyn.”  The fact that Helen Mirren releases a movie or two every year always playing a strong woman.  How about Dame Judi Dench as M? Kate Winslet, Cate Blancette all seem to find regular roles with strong and/or interesting women characters.  I don’t think gender is so much a factor in why movies aren’t made than it is rotten story lines, weird characters, twisted vision, overrated talent due to connections, pretension and, dare I say it…perversion.  And that gets me to thinking about when I watch movies that have a predominantly male cast like “The Big Short.”  I don’t feel alienated from my life, I don’t feel like I don’t belong, I usually enjoy their maleness, because, gasp and revelation, I like men and I like movies about men just as much as I like good movies about women.  There’s no fear of the female protagonist but that sure as hell can be used as a major cop out for someone spouting outdated feminist martyrdom whose “talent” is so far out in space it deserves an alien life form of its own.  Oh, yeah, Eleanor of Aquitaine, doing a flick about her was a real fear of a female protagonist, or should I say, co-antagonist with Henry.  Jesus, Mary and Joseph, how do you put up with all of this.  How narrow minded if the only way you can identify or sympathize with a character in a movie or feel comfortable is if they are the same sex as you are.  Jesus, your success must kill her.

